1. Circle of character types usually in the form of animal natures; animal circle.

    1. In the West the Zodiac (circle) of the twelve Archetypes: Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, Pisces.

      This Western Zodiac – unlike its Chinese counterpart – is not really a true Zodiac since some of the symbols are not of animals or even living beings.

    2. In China the Zodiac (circle) of the twelve Animals: Rat, Ox, Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Goat, Monkey, Rooster, Dog, Pig.

      This Chinese Zodiac – unlike its Western counterpart – is a true Zodiac consisting entirely of animal symbols.

  2. Division of the ecliptic into twelve equal parts or signs, each sign associated in turn with one of the twelve Archetypes starting with Aries.

    1. In tropical astrology the Zodiac (ecliptical division) starting from the point of the Sun at the vernal equinox.

      This so called Tropical Zodiac keeps the Sun in exactly the same signs every season year after year, but continually changes in relation to the stars. The tropical zodiac is the one most often used in modern Western astrology. It is also used in astronomy.

    2. In sidereal astrology a Zodiac (ecliptical division) starting from a particular star or reference point external to our solar system such as the galactic center.

      This so called Sidereal Zodiac keeps the stars in roughly the same signs every year, but continually changes in relation to the equinoxes. There exists a multitude of sidereal zodiacs with slightly different starting points. Some 1500 years ago they all converged with the tropical zodiac. Sidereal zodiacs are used in modern Indian astrology and by some Western astrologers.